Picture of Gabor Acs
I tried to upload a different version of a file but I get the old version. What's happening?
by Gabor Acs - Wednesday, 13 July 2011, 02:28 PM
 

You can experience this when you want to upload a different version of a file with the same file name.

Teachers: If you delete a file in the File storage area of your course and upload a different version of the file with the same file name.

Students: If you upload a file for an assignment but you change it later and upload the modified file with the same filename.

The problem occurs only on your computer. The file is changed at the course so if anyone else tries to open it from a different computer he will receive the newest version.

Your problem is caused by the cache - the web infrastructure is doing what it is meant to do to reduce the loading time so it will open the previous version of the file from your computer not from the server.

Solution: The file will be refreshed for you eventually but you can use ctrl+F5 to force a refresh in your browser.